The Margarette Golding Award

In 2000 at the 11th Convention in Stockholm, the establishment of an award in the name of the founder of Inner Wheel, Margarette Golding, was recommended.

A Margarette Golding Award may be given for highly commendable service to the community, either personally or through Inner Wheel. It can be presented to a member of Inner Wheel or members of the public whose highly commendable contribution to the community an Inner Wheel Club or District wishes to recognise.

The award is not given for members who have filled a number of positions in Inner Wheel over many years. Members who have given long and valuable service to Inner Wheel but who do not qualify for a Margarette Golding Award, may be recognised with the award of Honoured Active Membership.

Application Guidelines
Applications for the Margarette Golding Award must be made on the original application form as required by International Inner Wheel. Guidelines and forms may be obtained by contacting the National Representative.

Commendations for Service

Recipients of Margarette Golding Award

Club Year
Helen Comport Berwick April 2022
Vivienne Anderson Northern Beaches Jan 2021
Telka Williams Member at Large Oct 2017
Patti Stafford Wangaratta, VIC May 2017
Nona Dart Bathurst, NSW Nov 2016
Frances Blake Coffs Harbour, NSW Sept 2015
Sandra Richards Townsville, QLD Aug 2015
Margaret Moore, AM (awarded posthumously) Launceston, TAS Feb 2015
Pamela Woodhouse Gold Coast North, QLD Nov 2014
Margaret Jesma Whitchurch Rockhampton, QLD Jul 2013
Raelene Fittkau Strapthine, QLD Jan 2011
Anne McGill Narre Warren, VIC Jul 2008
Betty Iris Byrne Burnie, TAS Oct 2008
Julie Ann Waterfeld Brisbane, QLD Feb 2008
Gail van der Heyden Narre Warren, VIC Jul 2007
Martha Brown, OAM Orange, NSW Feb 2006
Beryl Heath Narrabi, NSW Oct 2005
Valerie Morgan Parramatta, NSW Jul 2004
Frances Poxon Launceston, TAS Jun 2004
Olga Bennett Canberra Belconnen, ACT Jun 2004
Lorna Smith Bathurst, NSW Jun 2004
Marjorie Bassingthwaite Cowra, NSW Feb 2004
Roslyn Brown Wyong, NSW Feb 2004
Beverly Beckers Terrigal, NSW Feb 2004
Eileen Dinning Wangaratta, VIC Sep 2003
Di Roberts Melville, WA Jun 2003
Lorna Brownlow Bathurst, NSW Jun 2003
Olwyn King Alstonville, NSW Feb 2003
Margaret Roberts (dec) Bendigo, VIC Feb 2003
Pam Trefy Sutherland, NSW Feb 2003
Pam Mott Geelong East, VIC Sep 2002
Rose Craig Strapthine, QLD Sep 2002
Margaret McKay Townsville, QLD Sep 2002
Gwen Davies Parramatta, NSW Sep 2002
Marjorie Henry Berwick, VIC Jun 2002
Margaret Sansom Narre Warren, VIC Sep 2001

Non Members

Moira Kelly Oct 2013
Margaret Cockman Jun 2003
Catherine Hamlin Jun 2002